Reforestation project in the Barnim Nature Park

In 2022, ekomia is supporting the Hoffnungstaler Stiftung Lobetal in Bernau near Berlin in the climate-stable reforestation of an area of forest that has been severely damaged by bark beetle infestation.

The challenge of climate change for the German forest.

For some years now, many German forests have been suffering from high temperatures and drought caused by global climate change. This favours the spread of the bark beetle, which particularly affects pure spruce forests / spruce monocultures. The consequences can be observed in the form of large-scale bare areas in German forests.

The Hoffnungstaler Stiftung Lobetal also had to experience this on one of its forest plots in the Barnim Nature Park. Following the drought years 2019/2020 and bark beetle infestation in 2021, spruce trees had to be removed from a damaged area of 4000m2. On half of the area, young trees have already been able to establish themselves under the spruces. But if no trees are planted on the remaining area, blackberries and grasses will spread so much that there will be no forest there for many years. Therefore, it is important to start reforestation quickly.

Damaged forest area in the Barnim Nature Park
Damaged forest area in the Barnim Nature Park (52°43'41.5"N 13°34'59.5"E)

From monoculture to climate-stable mixed forest

The forest manager Alfred Hesse oversees the reforestation: "Reforestation with a mixture of climate-stable tree species makes a lot of sense here". The aim of the afforestation is to establish several tree species suitable for the site. In addition to the indigenous wych elm, which has become very rare but is considered to have good chances in the climate change, nut trees and sweet chestnuts are planted in the soil. Larches are also being planted and will one day serve as timber. They achieve excellent quality when mixed with lime trees. In addition to valuable woods, this also creates habitats for bees, insects and all animal species that like to eat them, such as bats.

 

Together with the hornbeams and black locust trees that are present in the natural regeneration, a forest with more than eight tree species is to be created. If some of them should die due to climate change and its consequences, the forest will retain its character - it is more resilient to many disturbances.

In total, ekomia is financing the purchase and planting of 500 trees for the project.

Planting plan of the afforestation with wych elm, black walnut, lime, larch, walnut and sweet chestnut
Planting plan of the afforestation with wych elm, black walnut, lime, larch, walnut and sweet chestnut

Aufforstungsprojekt im Naturpark Barnim

Im Jahr 2022 unterstützt ekomia die Hoffnungstaler Stiftung Lobetal in Bernau bei Berlin bei der klimastabilen Aufforstung einer Waldfläche, die durch Borkenkäferbefall stark beschädigt wurde.

Die Herausforderung des Klimawandels für den deutschen Wald.

Viele Deutsche Forste leiden seit einigen Jahren an hohen Temperaturen und Dürre, die durch den globalen Klimawandel ausgelöst werden. Das begünstigt die Ausbreitung des Borkenkäfers, der insbesondere reine Fichtenwälder / Fichtenmonokulturen betrifft. Die Folgen sind in Form von großflächige Kahlflächen in deutschen Wäldern zu beobachten.

Das musste auch die Hoffnungstaler Stiftung Lobetal auf einem ihrer Waldstücke im Naturpark Barnim erleben. Nach den Dürrejahren 2019/2020 und Borkenkäferbefall 2021 mussten Fichten auf einer Schadfläche von 4000m2 entnommen werden. Auf der Hälfte der Fläche konnten sich bereits unter den Fichten junge Bäume etablieren. Wenn aber auf der restlichen Fläche keine Bäume gepflanzt werden, verbreiten sich Brombeeren und Gräser so sehr, dass es für viele Jahre keinen Wald dort geben wird. Deshalb ist es wichtig schnell mit der Wiederaufforstung zu beginnen.

Geschädigte Waldfläche im Naturpark Barnim
Geschädigte Waldfläche im Naturpark Barnim (52°43'41.5"N 13°34'59.5"E)

Von Monokultur zu klimastabilem Mischwald

Der Forstwirt Alfred Hesse betreut die Wiederaufforstung: "Eine Wiederbewaldung mit einer Mischung klimastabiler Baumarten ist hier sehr sinnvoll". Das Ziel der Aufforstung ist es, mehrere standortgerechte Baumarten zu etablieren. Neben der heimischen Flatterulme, die sehr selten geworden ist, der jedoch im Klimawandel gute Chancen zugeschrieben werden, kommen Nussbäume und Edelkastanien in den Boden. Auch Lärchen werden gepflanzt und sollen einmal als Nutzholz dienen. Sie erreichen hervorragende Qualität, wenn sie mit Linden gemischt werden. So entstehen neben wertvollen Hölzern auch Lebensräume für Bienen, Insekten und alle Tierarten, die sie gern vertilgen wie z.B. Fledermäuse.

 

Zusammen mit den Hainbuchen und Robinien, die in der Naturverjüngung vorhanden sind, soll ein Wald mit mehr als acht Baumarten entstehen. Wenn durch den Klimawandel und seine Folgen einzelne davon sterben sollten, behält der Wald seinen Charakter – er ist resilienter gegen viele Störungen.

Insgesamt finanziert ekomia den Kauf und die Pflanzung von 500 Bäumen für das Projekt.

Pflanzplan der Aufforstung mit Flatterulme, Schwarznuss, Linde, Lärche, Walnuss und Edelkastanie
Pflanzplan der Aufforstung mit Flatterulme, Schwarznuss, Linde, Lärche, Walnuss und Edelkastanie